© 2018 | mkngconsulting

Terms & Conditions | Privacy policy (in French) | Sitemap 

We use cookies to give you the best and most relevant experience.

Find out more

Cédric Grossmann

Physical & Digital Retail Consultant

Marketing, Management & Business Strategy

mkngconsulting, a simplified joint-stock company (French SAS) with a capital of €1 000.

14, rue du Vieux Faubourg | CS30028 | 59042 Lille Cedex | France

CASE STUDY

DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION

Gerstaecker is the European leading art supplies retailer and is established in nine countries at the beginning of 2019: Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium and Spain. Acting as a major mailorder company in France and the United Kingdom since 1999 and 2001 with an e-commerce website, a catalogue and several prints, Gerstaecker wanted to strengthen their online presence and embrace a digital transformation strategy. Alongside this strategy, the plan was to launch the business in Belgium and Spain. 

Gerstaecker wanted to consolidate their status on these two historical markets and develop tools and a marketing team allowing them to grow internationally and especially in Belgium and Spain. 

IMPLEMENTATION
AND ACHIEVEMENT

Gerstaecker rapidly capitalised on digital retail and started their digital transformation beginning of 2000's. Since 2009, a full in-house digital marketing team has been developed with the recruitment, coaching and training of a community manager, traffic manager, marketing assistant, country managers and eCRM manager.  

 

From an e-commerce team, Gerstaecker has evolved towards a digital marketing team, open to all distribution channels of the business. The following actions has been taken to allow this transition: 

  • launch of the online magazine l'Atelier Géant;

  • launch of the community management strategy, with over 50,000 followers at the end of 2016; 

  • integration of physical stores in emailing campaigns; 

  • launch of click and collect and click and reserve from 2012;

  • unification of products, images, customers databases between all distribution channels from 2012;

  • launch of the new e-commerce website, shared by several countries, in 2013;

  • launch of the eCRM management strategy with emailing campaigns automations and texts campaigns;

  • online visibility and e-reputation of physical stores (4,25/5 on Google Reviews at the end of 2016)...

A truly challenging and fascinating work with carefully tested and challenged actions and decisions, weekly and monthly dashboards, training and regular awareness campaigns with the sales and store teams... As always, it has been crucial to stay ROI oriented. 

 
 

RESULTS 

AND FEEDBACK

The digital transformation started in 2000 and particularly intensified between 2009 and 2016 definitely contributed to Gerstaecker current leading position on their historical markets. It also facilitated the launch of the activity in Belgium and Spain.

The early adoption of omni-channel strategies and the decision to start the transition of an e-commerce team to a digital marketing team, professionalised and empowered with transversal skills have been a key success factor to achieve the goals and to answer the challenges of the different distribution channels and of course of the customers. 

It has been and still is a key success factor allowing Gerstaecker a steady growth on these four markets: France, the United Kingdom, Belgium and Spain as well as a competitive advantage. 

 

DO YOU HAVE A PROJECT?

LET'S ARRANGE A MEETING!

PHONE / EMAIL / SOCIAL MEDIA

ADDRESS

00 33 (0)6 15 95 91 90

cedric(at)mkngconsulting(dot)com

mkng consulting

Cedric Grossmann

14 rue du Vieux Faubourg

CS30028

59042 Lille Cedex

France

  • LinkedIn /cedricgrossmann
  • Twitter @cedricgrossmann

l

 

IDEAS, TRENDS AND FOOD FOR THOUGHTS...

READ THE BLOG (IN FRENCH ONLY FOR NOW)

With mkngconsulting, I act as an Off- & Online Retail Consultant. 

What do I mean by off- and online retail?

 

Over the past decade, we heard a lot about adopting a "multichannel" or an "omnichannel" strategy. More recently, we have been using the terms "new retail" or "phygital" or even "smart phygital". In the long run, it seems we are trying to label in a new way what is retail and what retail has become over the years: global and interconnected.  

Offline on one hand, with every tangible elements, materials or human ressources: a catalogue, print materials - promotional or not -, employees, a retail store, a pop-up store, presence - mercantile or not - on a fair...).

 

Online on the other hand with all the elements of a digital strategy: with a website - ecommerce or not -, an online store on a marketplace, a blog, emailings campaigns, an affiliation programme, presence on search engines - paid or organic -...).

I truly believe there is a need to highlight those two aspects - off- and online - as part of a retail strategy, now and in the future.

ÉTUDE DE CAS

TRANSFORMATION DIGITALE

Gerstaecker est leader européen de la distribution multicanale de matériels pour artistes et est présent en 2019 dans neuf pays : l'Allemagne, la France, le Royaume-Uni, l'Autriche, la Suisse, l'Italie, les Pays-Bas, la Belgique et l'Espagne. VADiste incontournable du marché français et britannique depuis 1999 et 2001 avec un site e-commerce, un catalogue et différentes brochures commerciales, Gerstaecker a souhaité muscler sa présence en ligne et embrasser une stratégie de transformation digitale. Dans la foulée ont été créées les filiales belge et espagnol.

Gerstaecker souhaitait asseoir son statut de VADiste sur ses deux marchés historiques et disposer d'outils et d'une équipe marketing lui permettant de poursuivre sa croissance à l'étranger et notamment en Belgique et en Espagne.

MISE EN ŒUVRE

ET ACCOMPLISSEMENT

Gerstaecker a très vite pris le tournant du digital en entamant sa transformation dès le début des années 2000. A partir de 2009, il a fallu mettre sur pied une véritable équipe marketing digital qui s'est très largement spécialisée et professionnalisée avec le recrutement et la formation d'un community manager, traffic manager, assistant marketing, chefs de projets et eCRM manager.

 

D'une équipe e-commerce, Gerstaecker est passé à une équipe marketing digital qui n'était plus seulement focalisée sur le site e-commerce mais sur tous les canaux de distribution. C'est un plan d'actions complet qui a été mis en œuvre :

  • création du magazine l'Atelier Géant en ligne;

  • mise en place de la stratégie de community management, avec plus de
    50 000 followers à fin 2016;

  • intégration des magasins dans les campagnes d'emailings;

  • click and collect et click and reserve dès 2012;

  • uniformisation des bases de données produits, images, clients, entre tous les canaux de distribution dès 2012;

  • lancement du nouveau site e-commerce mutualisé en 2013;

  • stratégie de eCRM management avec la scénarisation des campagnes emailing et SMS;

  • visibilité et e-réputation des magasins en ligne (4,25/5 sur Google à fin 2016)...

Un travail passionnant et des actions suivies et mises à l'épreuve avec des périodes de tests, des tableaux de bords hebdomadaires et mensuels et des formations et sensibilisations régulières des différentes équipes VAD et magasins. L'approche orientée ROI a toujours été privilégiée.

 
 

LES RÉSULTATS 

ET RETOUR D'EXPÉRIENCE

La transformation digitale entamée dès le début des années 2000, et mise en œuvre tout particulièrement entre 2009 et 2016 a permis à Gerstaecker d'asseoir sa position sur ses marchés historiques et de facilement démarrer son activité en Belgique et en Espagne.

L'adoption précoce des stratégies d'omnicanalité et la décision rapide d'orienter l'équipe e-commerce vers une équipe marketing digital aux compétences transversales a permis de répondre aux objectifs et problématiques des différents canaux de distribution, mais aussi et surtout aux attentes des clients. 

Cela a constitué et constitue toujours un facteur clé de succès primordial à la bonne croissance de l'entreprise sur ses quatre marchés ainsi qu'un élément différenciant fort.

 

UN PROJET ?

PRENONS RENDEZ-VOUS !

TELEPHONE / EMAIL / RÉSEAUX

ADRESSE

00 33 (0)6 15 95 91 90

cedric(at)mkngconsulting(point)com

mkngconsulting

Cédric Grossmann

14 rue du Vieux Faubourg

CS30028

59042 Lille Cedex

France

  • LinkedIn /cedricgrossmann
  • Twitter @cedricgrossmann

l

 

IDÉES, TENDANCES ET MATIÈRE À RÉFLEXION...

LE BLOG DU RETAIL

Avec mkngconsulting, j'interviens en tant que Consultant Retail Physique & Digital.

Qu'entends-je par retail physique et digital ?

On a beaucoup entendu parler de stratégie « multicanale », puis « omnicanale » par le passé. Aujourd'hui, on emploie plus souvent les termes de « new retail » ou encore de « phygital », voire de « smart phygital ». Au final, il semblerait qu'on cherche à mettre un terme nouveau sur ce qu'est le retail depuis quelques années à présent : un commerce de détail global et intégré.

Offrant une facette aussi bien physique, c'est-à-dire tous les éléments palpables, matériels et humains (un catalogue, des imprimés - publicitaires ou non -, des collaborateurs, un magasin, un pop-up store, une présence - marchande ou non - dans un salon...) et digitale (un site Internet - marchand ou non -, une boutique sur une place de marché, un blog, des campagnes emailings, d'affiliation, une présence sur les moteurs de recherches - payantes ou naturelles -...).

Je pense qu'il est primordial de mettre en évidence ces deux facettes comme partie intégrante du commerce de détail actuel et futur.

© 2019 | mkngconsulting 

Conditions Générales | Politique de confidentialité | Mentions légales | Sitemap

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et d'améliorer l'expérience de nos utilisateurs. 

En savoir plus

Cédric Grossmann

Consultant Marketing Digital & Retail

Marketing, Management & Stratégie

mkngconsulting, société par actions simplifiée au capital de 1 000 euros.

14, rue du Vieux Faubourg | CS30028 | 59042 Lille Cedex | France